Book Review #1 – Fangirl

fangirl
From Amazon

Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl is about a girl named Cath who’s a college freshman. While adjusting to the new world that is college, she finds comfort in a world that she, and her twin sister, held on to since before their mom left them, the world of Simon Snow.

Cath and her twin sister were inseparable before college but Wren decided that she wanted to try something new. She decided to meet new people which Cath wasn’t excited about. This is where her whole crisis starts.

Basically it’s a story about trying to adjust to change and finding yourself, well, that’s how I saw it.

The book had two stories, the first being the actual story about Cath, Wren, Levi, and the other characters and then there were excerpts from the Simon Snow books and excerpts from Cath’s Magicath page. Personally, I thought the Simon Snow excerpts were distracting. I think they’re completely unnecessary (let me know if I missed some sort of symbolism or connection between the excerpts and the chapters cause if I did, then I suck at reading).

The first few chapters were dragging. I don’t understand why but they were even if I could relate to Cath in so many ways. Cath worried a lot. She worried about her sister, her dad, school, her roommate, her roommate’s boyfriend, her writing partner, her Simon Snow fan fiction, basically she worried about everything.

She’s also very paranoid. She’d wake up in the middle of the night to check if the front door was locked and she couldn’t sleep in the living room couch out of fear that someone would break in and the couch was too near the front door. It’s silly, I know. But sometimes I find myself worrying about everything and I feel like I’m as paranoid as she is so I liked that about her.

I liked how she was the more responsible sister. I liked how she worried about things like boys and sex and that she was a virgin. As compared to her sister, Wren, who was the wild child (for a while since something happened that made her tone down a bit).

After everything she became stronger and less worried and I guess I needed to read this book now since I might be going through something similar. It’s a good book to read if you need a little push, you know, to be more confident or to believe in yourself more (or something like that).

It was an okay story with an unsatisfying ending. I’d give it a 3 out of 5. Try reading it and let me know if there were parts that I misunderstood (like all the Simon and Baz things which I’ve never heard of until I read this book).

Also, the main character of this book, Cath, wrote a Simon and Baz fanfic called Carry On which I guess could possibly be what Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On is about. Not sure if I’m still going to read that (highly unlikely).

Leave a Reply

