Book Review #2 – The Fill-In Boyfriend

the-fill-in-boyfriend-cover
From Amazon

I realized that when I choose books to read I look at the cover and the title but I don’t bother with the summary cause I want to be surprised as to what the book is actually about. So that’s what I’m going to do with you guys. I’m just going to talk about what I liked about the book, the lessons I learned from it, and maybe I’ll give you a few quotes that I couldn’t help but highlight while I was reading.

I finished reading this book in a day cause I liked it that much. I didn’t expect to at first but it was so relatable that I wanted to know how it would end as soon as I finished the first chapter which made it hard to put down.

The book discussed a bunch of different issues that teens go through these days. It talked about how this certain generation was obsessed with popularity, how they use likes as a way to validate their existence or how important one thing is, how people have this need to be perfect in the eyes of others, etc. You’ll realize while reading the book that you are Gia (she’s the main character; typical popular girl, student body president, has a crazy following online, etc). Well, maybe you’re not popular or the student body president but like her, people care too much about what other people think which is something that shouldn’t really be an issue.

The book also covered the importance of trust in a relationship, may it be with friends or a significant other. Aside from trust it also covered growing apart from friends or outgrowing friends which I didn’t know actually happened until I experienced it for myself.

Like Fangirl, I didn’t like how this book ended as well. Mainly because I wanted to know more of what will happen next. I’d give this a 4.5 out of 5 just because of how it ended. Other than that, I think it’s a great book.

Here are some of the quotes that I highlighted while reading:

“Depth is found in what we can learn from the people and things around us. Everyone, everything, has a story, Gia. When you learn those stories, you learn experiences that fill you up, that expand your understanding. You add layers to your soul.”

“Comparing yourself to others, the need for validation, it’s not good for our mental health.”

“He didn’t hurt you, did he?” His voice was surprisingly angry.
“No, well, he just hurt my heart.”

 

Leave a Reply

